Heads up on an interesting discussion on gay marriage

10 12 2008

If you haven’t yet seen it, Jon Stewart makes some really thoughtful arguments in a discussion with Mike Huckabee about gay marriage.  One of my favourite points: “Religion is far more of a choice than homosexuality.”  You can get it online at thedailyshow.com, just click full episodes and select Tuesday’s night’s show. The discussion is right after the last little black commercial break bar at the bottom of your screen.


Actions

Information

4 responses

11 12 2008
cz

Jon Stewart was surprisingly non-comedic during that entire exchange. I was quite impressed.

11 12 2008
rebecca

LOVED it. I was starting to get really angry at Mike Huckabee’s ridiculous arguments (as if I hadn’t heard them before), but Jon Stewart’s remarks more than made up for Huckabee. Just one more reason to love Jon Stewart.

15 12 2008
Kristin

I was impressed, Jon did really well with him and (like all republicans) he just kept repeating his bible excuses.

23 12 2008
alesbianandascholar

cz – He does have his moments of seriousness. I love how he clearly really cares about this issue – we need more allies like him.

rebecca – I think I’m kind of numb to the opposition at this point, to be honest, until they get really ridiculous and hateful. Jon just nailed it.

Kristin – Well, I’m not sure I would say “all Republicans,” because there are non-Christian as well as equality-minded Christian republicans, but I know what you mean. It’s sad that they’re often not really to actually discuss their interpretation of the Scriptures, but just use it as an infallible weapon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

