Tati Tuesdays: Week of June 16-June 22

23 06 2009

What are Tati Tuesdays?  Tati Tuesdays are a weekly feature that highlights Things Around the Interwebs that I’ve found this week and want to share.  They’re a way to keep me engaged with you, the reader, without feeling the pressure to comment extensively and intelligently on every article I want to bring to your attention.  In addition to the acronym, they’re called “tati” because I tend to drink tea in the mornings while I surf the web.  Hence, “ta for the tea!” shortened to tati.
File it under…

Gay – Very, Very Gay

This year’s Lamdba Literary Awards winners were announced.  I’m not familiar with many of them, so perhaps some books to add to the reading list.

Looks like Hillary was heavily involved in this week’s (some) federal benefits for same-sex partners of federal employees EO.

The 100 hottest butch, masculine, androgynous, genderqueer, transmasculine, studs, AGs, dykes, queers, and transguys, including such gems as Kay Ryan, Rachel Maddow, Andrea Gibson, and Feministing’s Miriam.  It’s a fabulous list.  I may not be super into butchy women, but softbutch/andro?  Yeah, I’m all over it.

General Glee

Dorothy puts the spotlight on my latest pundit nerdcrush.

And speaking of which, said nerdcrush and Rachel had a very humorous discussion about the Ensign thing.

Slate has a story on sleep tourism.

Again from Slate, this update of “Barack Obama’s News Feed” has a laugh-out-loud funny comment thread below “Osama Bin Laden posted a video response to Speech in the Muslim World.”  Osama: *Arab characters*.  Robert Gates: ?  Dan Choi: “FML.”  Robert Gates: Well done, homosexual.  Dan Choi: So can I have my job back?  Robert Gates: Negative.

The Annotated White House Flickr Feed.

I’ll Have a Stiff Drink with my Geeky Lesbian Entertainment

Diggnation filmed over at MSNBC studios this week, with Rachel Maddow serving up a delicious-looking morning cocktail called a Sucette.  It includes Lillet, my favourite Bordeaux drink, and I really wish she’d share the recipe.

Just Plain Interesting

Slate article on Japan’s “grass-eating men.”

Nerd Alert

Purchased on Amazon this week, a paperback copy of the American Heritage Dictionary for only $5.99 (plus shipping if you don’t have Prime).

Over at Historiann, an interesting discussion on the drawbacks of complete-it-quick PhD programs.

John Hodgman on jocks vs. nerds at the “other” nerd prom (correspondant’s dinner).  You have to love that he names the three types of hobbits, and that Obama gives the vulcan salute.

Nifty Gadgets

The TweetDeck desktop Twitter/Facebook tool, available for Mac and Windows, brought me back to Twitter after slowly languishing on Twhirl.  Find me @peachy_penumbra and tell me what interesting tweeters I should add to my follow list.

Reproductive Rights

Jon Stewart goes head to head with Mike Huckabee on abortion rights.  Not as good as their gay marriage debate, but still worth watching.

Sexual Violence Discourse

As usual, Cara clues us in on the latest rage-inducing treatment of rape by an official entity.  This time, it’s the use of “rape champions” by UK police officers to… prevent rape?

Wasting Time

I got stuck with a cold this weekend, so I spent a lot of time on Hulu. I watched everything from the Bachlerotte and Hell’s Kitchen to early Buffy episodes, a preview of the new show NYC prep, and the new cartoon about liberal elitists, The Goodes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

