Same-Sex Couples in the Ballroom

24 09 2009

Apparently there was some kerfuffle about same-sex ballroom dancing on So You Think You Can Dance? (this may be old news, but I only watch Dancing with the Stars so I just heard).  Personally, I think same-sex dancing is sexy and fun and it’s nice for queer people to be able to do these sexy, romantic dances with the gender for whom they feel those kinds of things.  It’s especially fun when you do have a partner to be able to dance with them regardless of gender.  I’ve taught a lot of girls, gay and straight, to dance, because I can lead and follow, and I love doing it.  Sometimes it’s fun to dance with a guy, too, especially if the particular guy is aware that dancing ≠ attraction, but in a lot of casual dancing venues, men tend to abuse the “one dance is just polite” rule and think that dancing means something more.  I’ve danced in venues that are completely friendly to same-sex female couples, but I think that the dancing world should also open its doors to male couples.  Artistic expression knows no gender boundaries.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 09 2009
lis

If I remember correctly, most of the kerfuffle about it was because they were have a gay contestant, so people assumed he’d “have” to have a male partner.

24 09 2009
Judith

Oh, okay. What I saw was just a video featuring a same-sex couple dancing, and the older British judge said something about how he had poo-pooed same-sex dancing before but he liked their performance.

Leave a Reply

